LinkedIn Connection Request and InMail Limits, Explained

Short answer

Which LinkedIn limits are official, which are only observed by tool vendors, and how many people one profile can realistically reach in a month.

Artem Smirnov
Artem Smirnov

Last updated · 13 min read

Artem Smirnov in a dark suit against a charcoal studio backdrop, next to the line '100 invites a week. 2,800 people a month.'

LinkedIn does not publish a weekly connection request limit. Its help pages confirm that a limit exists and that it applies to every member, free or Premium. Hitting it usually means about a week without sending invitations. The number itself is not written down anywhere official.

The figure you see everywhere, roughly 100 invitations a week on a rolling 7-day window, comes from tool vendors watching accounts. Some report 150 to 200 a week for established or paid accounts, and closer to 50 for accounts younger than three months.

What LinkedIn does publish is short: a ceiling of 30,000 first-degree connections, notes of up to 200 characters, 50 InMail credits a month on Sales Navigator, and three personalized notes a month on a free account, although an older LinkedIn help page still says five.

I checked every number below against its source on September 27, 2026 and marked each one as official or observed. Where the two disagree, the official page wins.

LinkedIn connection request limits by account type in 2026

Every row carries its status. "Official" means a live LinkedIn help page states it. "Observed" means outreach tool vendors report it from the accounts they see. That is useful, but it remains vendor data, and LinkedIn can change the behavior behind it without telling anyone.

Connection requests and notes (checked September 2026)

LimitFree (Basic)PremiumSales NavigatorStatus
Weekly connection requestsAbout 100About 100, some report 150-200About 100, some report 150-200Observed
Weekly requests, account under 3 months oldAbout 50About 50About 50Observed
Daily pace vendors recommend10-2510-2510-25, PhantomBuster says 30-40Observed
Restriction after hitting the invitation limitTypically 1 weekTypically 1 weekTypically 1 weekOfficial
Personalized note length200 characters200 characters200 charactersOfficial for 200; vendors report 300
Personalized notes per month3 (an older LinkedIn page says 5)UnlimitedUnlimited (reported)Official for free and Premium, but LinkedIn's pages disagree on free
Re-inviting someone after you withdrawBlocked for up to 3 weeksSameSameOfficial
Too many pending invitationsWait up to 1 monthSameSameOfficial
Maximum network size30,000 connections30,00030,000Official

Sources for the official rows: LinkedIn's pages on connecting with people, reaching the invitation limit, restriction types and personalizing invitations.

Observed rows come from Overloop, Taplio and PhantomBuster, all software vendors, all published or updated in June or July 2026.

What the table means if you are the founder paying for this

Two things stand out.

First, paying LinkedIn does not buy more invitations. The restriction page says plainly that Basic and Premium members are both subject to invitation limits, and that you cannot buy or acquire more invitations.

Premium does buy you unlimited notes, and paid plans come with InMail credits. Premium Business or Sales Navigator also raise the monthly search allowance. Those matter, but the weekly cap on new connections is roughly the same for everyone.

Second, the one number everyone plans around is the one LinkedIn never states. So treat the weekly figure as a working assumption with a safety margin built in, and never turn it into a target to hit every week.

What LinkedIn publishes versus what everyone estimates

LinkedIn describes its invitation limit in terms of behavior and never gives a count. The restriction page lists three reasons an account can lose the ability to send invitations:

  • Many invitations sent in a short time
  • Many of your invitations get ignored, sit unanswered or are reported as spam
  • An excessive number of invitations combined with suspected use of an automation tool, which can lead to suspension or restriction

That is why vendor numbers differ. Each vendor sees a different mix of accounts, with different ages, acceptance rates and habits. Each reports the ceiling its own customers tend to run into.

Taplio, for example, reports that LinkedIn slows accounts down when acceptance drops below about 30%. No LinkedIn page confirms a threshold like that, so read it as one vendor's pattern.

The weekly window rolls with your own activity

Vendors describe the weekly count as a rolling seven days. PhantomBuster says it starts from your own first request and resets seven days later: start on Monday at 2 PM and the count frees up the following Monday at 2 PM.

So the week does not follow the calendar. If your first request went out on a Wednesday afternoon, the allowance comes back the following Wednesday afternoon.

Three contradictions you will run into, resolved

"100 a day" and "50 a day." Both figures still circulate in popular articles, sometimes in the same one. Neither fits a weekly ceiling of 100 to 200.

Averaged over seven days, 100 a week is about 14 a day and 200 a week is about 29. Send 50 a day and you reach 100 by Tuesday evening. The daily number that matches the weekly ceiling is the 10 to 25 range vendors now recommend.

Three notes a month or five. Here LinkedIn contradicts itself. Its page on personalizing invitations, last updated around April 2026, says a free account can add a note to up to three requests a month.

Its page on the invitation limit, last updated about a year before I checked it, still says five, and Taplio calls five the widely observed number. Plan for three, the newer of the two official figures.

200 characters or 300. LinkedIn's page gives 200 characters for a note and does not mention 300.

Taplio and Overloop report 300 without tying it to a plan, and Overloop limits that to desktop, with some mobile versions stopping at 200. If you write your note to fit in 200 characters, it works on every account and every device.

LinkedIn message and InMail limits

Messages behave differently from invitations. InMail limits are published in detail. Messages to people you are already connected with have no published cap at all.

InMail credits by plan (official, checked September 2026)

PlanInMail credits per monthMost you can hold
Free (Basic)NoneNot applicable
Premium Career5Not stated
Premium Business15Not stated
Premium All-in-One3090
Sales Navigator (Core, Advanced, Advanced Plus)50150

Sources: LinkedIn's InMail FAQ and the Sales Navigator page on InMail credits. Free accounts do not appear in LinkedIn's list of plans that come with credits.

The rules around those credits, all from the same two official pages:

  • An InMail can have a subject of up to 200 characters and a body of up to 2,000 characters.
  • Sales Navigator credits arrive on the first day of each month (UTC time). Unused credits carry over, but each one has to be used within 90 days.
  • On Sales Navigator, if the recipient answers within 90 days of sending, the credit is returned to you.
  • Cancel or change your subscription and the credits do not come with you.

Other message limits (checked September 2026)

LimitWhat is knownStatus
Messages to 1st-degree connectionsNo published cap. Vendor estimates run from about 100 a week (PhantomBuster, July 2026) to about 100 a day on free and 150 on paid (another vendor, August 2026, from the accounts it manages).Observed, and inconsistent
Safe messaging pace10-20 a day to existing connections (Overloop, July 2026); 30-40 a day for outreach (the same other vendor, August 2026)Observed
Open Profile messages (free messages to members who have turned Open Profile on, no connection or InMail credit needed)Do not use InMail credits. Free senders get a limited number a month; LinkedIn does not say how many.Official, number not published
People search on a free accountCapped by the commercial use limit (a monthly cap on how many profiles you can view through search), which resets on the 1st of every month (midnight Pacific time); the number is not disclosedOfficial

Sources: Overloop and PhantomBuster (both updated July 2026) and one other vendor reporting on the accounts it manages (updated August 2026) for the observed rows; LinkedIn's pages on Open Profile and the commercial use limit for the official ones.

The spread in the message row is wide enough to be useless as a hard number. I treat it as a signal that messaging is judged on behavior, like invitations, and I would stay near the low end of that range.

What Sales Navigator changes, and what it does not

Sales Navigator raises the search allowance that the commercial use limit caps on free accounts, as Premium Business and Recruiter Lite do. It gives you 50 InMail credits a month. Vendors report unlimited notes as well, but LinkedIn's note page only promises that to Premium members.

What it does not clearly give you is a bigger weekly invitation allowance. PhantomBuster reports 150 to 200 a week on Sales Navigator accounts, and Taplio the same range for Premium accounts with a strong SSI.

LinkedIn's own restriction page covers Basic and Premium members alike, so the safe planning assumption is that Sales Navigator does not raise it.

What happens when you hit each limit

LinkedIn's help pages are more specific than people expect.

Invitation limit. Your account is temporarily restricted from sending invitations. LinkedIn says this typically lasts one week.

During it, withdrawing pending invitations does not lift the restriction. You cannot buy more invitations, LinkedIn cannot shorten the wait, and support will not tell you the type or reason.

Repeated restrictions. LinkedIn's guidance scales with the problem: after a first restriction, wait a few hours; after several in one day, wait a few days.

Too many outstanding invitations. Wait up to one month before sending another. Taplio reports that this kicks in somewhere around 1,500 pending invitations. That figure is observed; LinkedIn gives no number.

Either way, the wait is long enough that it pays to withdraw stale invitations regularly, before they pile up. Keep in mind that a withdrawn invitation blocks you from re-inviting that person for up to three weeks.

Monthly note allowance on a free account. LinkedIn's pages cover only the quota itself: three personalized notes a month on the newer page, five on the older one. It does not say what the invite screen does once they are used, or on which day the allowance renews.

InMail credits at zero. No more InMail until new credits arrive or old ones come back from replies. On Sales Navigator, new credits land on the 1st of the month.

Suspected automation. This is the one that goes beyond a pause. LinkedIn says it may suspend or restrict the account. The risk of automation tools is a bigger subject than a limits table can cover, so I will only say this here: the official wording puts it in the same list as sending too fast.

How many people can one LinkedIn profile reach in a month?

Here is where the weekly invitation number misleads founders.

At about 100 invitations a week, one profile sends roughly 430 new invitations a month. It is easy to read that as the capacity of the account.

Smirnov Consulting Group, my Prague-based B2B outbound agency, runs cold email and LinkedIn campaigns for founder-led B2B companies. When I plan one of those campaigns, I use a different figure, and I wrote it down when I explained how we build the sending side of outbound:

"LinkedIn has a hard ceiling of about 2,800 people a month."

The scope in the next line matters as much as the number: "That is what we plan around per account, per month. It is the practical ceiling for one profile behaving like a human being rather than a script."

Both numbers describe the same profile. They count different things.

  • About 100 a week counts new connection invitations, and only those.
  • About 2,800 a month counts people contacted per LinkedIn account, whatever the route.

Now add up the limits in this article for one profile. About 430 invitations, 10 to 20 messages a day to existing connections (300 to 600 a month) and 50 InMail credits on Sales Navigator come to roughly 800 to 1,100 contacts a month.

Some of those messages go to people you invited that same month, so the number of different people is lower still. Either way, it is well short of 2,800.

The same 2,800 figure first appeared in a 2023 campaign we ran for an Australian financial advisory firm. The setup was five LinkedIn profiles plus 20 mailboxes, and every rep worked from one profile, one follow-up mailbox and three cold email mailboxes.

My LinkedIn post on that campaign says 2,800 people were contacted a month per LinkedIn account. It does not say whether people reached from the email accounts beside each profile are inside that number, how the 2,800 splits by route, or how old and well connected those profiles were.

So read 2,800 as a ceiling for an established profile, not a starting pace. With invitations capped near 430, most of the rest has to come from somewhere else: a large existing network to message, InMail, Open Profile, or possibly the mailboxes working next to the profile.

Keep the two figures in separate cells of your plan. A founder who treats 2,800 as an invitation target hits the weekly limit in the first week. One who treats 430 as the whole capacity plans too small once the profile is established.

When one profile is not enough, scale sideways. Horizontal scaling means scaling something that already works: more LinkedIn accounts if LinkedIn is the channel that works for you, or more cold email addresses if email works best.

As ceiling arithmetic, five profiles at 2,800 each is 14,000 people a month. Five established profiles at the pace added up above reach closer to 4,000 to 5,500, and that is the number to plan on until the accounts have earned more. Profiles under three months old start lower, at about half the invitations.

This is also what a real volume plan looks like when you are judging anyone who runs outbound for you: accounts, contacts per account, and what you add once something starts working.

Once you know your monthly capacity, put it next to the number of people in your market. If that comparison is new to you, picking a market by its size walks through it.

A safe daily and weekly pacing plan

The plan below is built from the observed ranges above. It is conservative on purpose, because LinkedIn judges pace and reactions, and a mistake costs you a week of silence.

Invitation pacing by account stage (built from the vendor-observed ranges above)

Account stageInvitations per dayInvitations per weekWhat to watch
Under 3 months old5-10Under 50Acceptance rate and pending count
Established, first month of outreach10-1550-75Any warning or restriction
Established, running smoothly15-2075-100Keep pending invitations low
Established, high acceptanceUp to 25100, go higher only with careOne restriction means back to the previous stage

A few rules sit on top of the table.

  1. Spread sends through the day. Taplio suggests no more than 10 an hour.
  2. Twenty a day on weekdays is exactly 100 a week. That simple rhythm keeps you inside the most widely reported ceiling without any tracking.
  3. Withdraw invitations that have sat unanswered for weeks, so the pending count never drifts toward the level where LinkedIn makes you wait a month.
  4. Write notes to 200 characters so they fit every account type and device.
  5. Track acceptance weekly and compare it with what a normal acceptance rate looks like. A falling acceptance rate is the earliest warning you get, well before any restriction.
  6. Keep messaging to existing connections, including the first message after someone accepts, at a steady daily pace too, near the low end of the vendor range, since there is no published number to lean on.

Questions founders ask about LinkedIn limits

Does Premium or Sales Navigator raise the weekly connection request limit? Not by any official rule. LinkedIn applies invitation limits to Basic and Premium members alike and does not sell extra invitations. Paid plans change notes, InMail and search instead, depending on the plan. PhantomBuster and Taplio report higher weekly ceilings on some paid accounts, but neither figure is official.

How long does a LinkedIn invitation restriction last? It depends on the trigger. LinkedIn's pages describe a few hours after a first restriction, a few days after several in one day, typically one week after reaching the invitation limit, and up to a month if you have too many invitations pending. Most restrictions lift automatically within a week.

Do I get InMail credits back if nobody replies? No. LinkedIn's general InMail FAQ returns a credit when the recipient accepts your InMail. On Sales Navigator, any reply within 90 days returns it, even a quick "Not interested". Unanswered InMails stay spent, and unused credits expire after 90 days.

What is the maximum number of LinkedIn connections? 30,000 first-degree connections. It is the only hard cap on connections that LinkedIn states on its help pages, and it rarely matters for outbound, because the weekly pace caps you long before that.

How do I know these limits are still current? Each LinkedIn help page carries its own "Last updated" line. In September 2026, the pages behind these tables ranged from about four weeks to about two years old by that line, so check it on any page before you rely on a number.

Checking these numbers yourself

Every official number here comes from eight LinkedIn help pages, all linked above. Open them before you plan a quarter, look at the "Last updated" line, and compare against the tables on this page.

For the observed numbers, look for three things in any source: whether it says it is official, when it was last updated, and whether it comes from a vendor that sells automation.

A figure that is unofficial, more than six months old and published by an automation vendor is a rumor with a table around it.

Want to get more B2B clients for your business?

I help B2B companies book 10 to 100+ qualified sales calls per month with outbound. Let's see if it fits yours.

Artem Smirnov
Artem Smirnov

I help B2B companies book qualified sales calls with cold email and LinkedIn outbound.